Superior Healthplan Honors Outstanding Physicians And Practioners For 2010

Superior HealthPlan, a state leader in healthcare solutions, announced the recipients of its 2010 Summit Awards for Excellence in Care. The Summit Awards are given each year to Physicians, Practitioners and Obstetricians for providing clinical excellence. There are two award categories, one for Obstetrics and one for Primary Care.

“Superior HealthPlan believes that establishing a strong network of high caliber physicians is critical to providing quality healthcare for our members. The Summit Awards recognize the best of the best amongst our health care providers” stated Tom Wise, President and CEO of Superior HealthPlan.

The Practitioners are selected for exemplary performance in several areas, including follow up after emergency room visits and routine preventive and well care services for adults and children.

Following are the 2010 Summit Award winners (Non-OB):

– Juan Aguilera, M.D. – Hidalgo Region
– Edward Borchard, M.D. – Corpus Christi Region
– Sandra Thomas, M.D. – Burnet Region
– Luis Arandia-Antelo, M.D. – Lubbock Region
– Maria Aguirre, M.D. – San Antonio Region

“The OB category recognizes the extraordinary efforts in providing high quality obstetric care to all of our members,” explained Dr. David Harmon, Chief Medical Director. “Feedback f r o m the members and their case managers helped determine the winners.”

The individual criteria included risk-adjusted cesarean delivery rates, participation in the notification of pregnancy process and utilization of 17P, a weekly steroid injection to prevent premature birth in certain high risk women.

Following are the 2010 OB Summit Award winners:
– Jana J. Schrier, M.D.
– Andrew G. Mahaffey, M.D.
(both with the Georgetown Women’s Center)

Via EPR Network
More Healthcare press releases